Book Hauls · Books

Wednesday #BookHaul 

Hi there 👋, How are we all doing? And of course what are you reading? 

So first of all, how do you like my NEW logo and blog design? I think it’s looks simple and fresh. Please let me know what you think! 

Anyway yesterday , I went with my carer to our local awesome book shop – High Peak Bookstore & Café.

It is beautiful, and there is SO many options, the prices are AMAZING and to top it of, they have a cafe attached which serves coffee, tea and lunch. 

Here goes’s…. 

Want to see what I got?

 Okay go on then! I will start of with fiction. 


#1) Hard Girls by Martina Cole


When a prostitute’s body is found lifeless, mutilated and brutally raped, DCI Annie Carr has never seen anything like it and neverwants to again. Kate Burrows, retired DCI now consultant, Is determined to help put the killer behind bars

The deadly DI Kate Burrows trilogy: the only time Martina’s written from the Old Bill’s perspective.

Kate is the hard-but-fair copper whose investigations – and heart – become dangerously entwined with London’s most infamous gangster, Patrick Kelly. But when there’s a killer on the loose, Kate Burrows is the only woman for the job.
This is the third in the DCI Kate Burrows Trilogy. I have the first which is The Ladykiller. Which I haven’t read yet. It is on my very long to be read list. And of course I’ve added the second book Broken on to my EVER-GROWING wishlist. 

Grab it here!  


#2) Postmortem by Patrica Cornwell.


Under cover of night in Richmond, Virginia, a human monster strikes, leaving a gruesome trail of stranglings that has paralyzed the city. Medical examiner Kay Scarpetta suspects the worst: a deliberate campaign by a brilliant serial killer whose signature offers precious few clues. With an unerring eye, she calls on the latest advances in forensic research to unmask the madman. But this investigation will test Kay like no other, because it’s being sabotaged from within—and someone wants her dead

Oh my I have heard so many things about her & this series. I picked up one last week ( bodyfarm #5 ) which is another in the Scarpetta series but I didn’t realise it wasn’t a standalone book at the time so of course I just had to pick this book up. I am so excited to read this . ( add mental note to push this up on my VIP to read list) I have my eye on her Ripper: The secret life of Walter Sickhert 

Grab it here: 

Moving on now to the NON-Fiction/True Stories. 


#3) Who are you? Megan Henley 


A dramatic and terrifying memoir of a ‘catfish’ scenario – when a woman meets a man online but nothing is what it seems.
25-year-old Megan Henley put her five-year-old daughter to bed one evening and switched on her laptop. A Facebook friend request’ seemed to be genuine. There were a few common friends and very similar interests, so Megan accepted.

With that one simple act, she changed her life forever. In her words: looking back on it, it was as if I had opened my front door to a stranger, as if I had thrown away every precaution I’d ever put in place, as if I had freely given access to my whole world all because of some nave belief that it was just’ a friend request on a social media site.’ Megan is tricked into a relationship, paranoia and ultimately betrayal by the man she loved and trusted but nothing is as it seems.

Well I must admit, I have never heard of this author nor this book. But the blurb sounds really interesting. A true love story in the modern world with deception and betrayal. Grab it here!! 

#4) Jack the Ripper : A True Love Story. 


Many researchers have tried over the decades to discover Mary Jane Kelly’s true identity. She was the final and most brutally murdered victim of Jack the Ripper, but almost nothing is known about her family or her earlier life. In this thrilling book, author, qualified surgeon and Mary’s great-nephew Wynne Weston-Davies explores the inscrutable circumstances behind the Ripper’s fifth and final victim and how the elusive life of Mary Jane Kelly is wholly intertwined with the mystery of her legendary killer.

I think the whole world has a little obsession with JTR. After all,che was the first known British serial killer. I found it last week but I didn’t pick it up. But I picked it up again yesterday and just had to pick it up. It was calling my name so I can’t wait to read it. 

Grab it here: 


#5)  Unsolved murders of South Yorkshire 



Truth will come to light, murder cannot be hid long, a man’s son may, but at the length truth will out’, said Launcelot in ‘The Merchant of Venice’. Whilst the passage of time can and has uncovered many secrets, killers could get away with their crimes in 1596 when Shakespeare penned these words and this is certainly the case in more recent times as ‘Unsolved Murders in South Yorkshire’ clearly demonstrate. The early chapters include cases of historic interest where killers certainly went to the grave in the knowledge they had got away with murder.



This book just caught my eye, I really love anything about true crimes especially murder,serial killers and how there minds work. And it’s a book that you can pick up and put down when you want as each chapter is about a different murder. 

Grab it here: 


What have you bought last and this week so far…. let’s chat in the comments? Do you have any recommendations? 

Thank you for reading and happy readings….

7 thoughts on “Wednesday #BookHaul 

  1. Shame on me, but since Spring I have not bought a book. Mainly because I have a lot of ARCs which need my attention and I don’t need distractions. 😦 (please don’t hate me)

    You have some interesting books there, I love the cover for “Jack the Ripper”. It’s scary 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m into a lot of genres, but mostly crime,thrillers. But I want to try and expand to others this year, and read all the other genre books I have on my bookshelves. Thank you for following me 🙂

      Like

  2. Love the new blog look and the books😍,sadly I’ve not bought any new books because of school work and other things that need my attention….Definitely adding this to my never ending tbr pile

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

